Hana’s Suitcase

Hii there. Hope you’re all good. In this blog post I am going to tell you about one of my favourite books, “Hana’s Suitcase”. You know why I like this so much? Because the idea behind the making of this book is really really great.

Before everything else, let me tell you about how I came across this book. Okay before that, is there anybody else who feels that sometimes, some …times… Books choose you? They decide the reader? I feel the same for this one though..and few more actually! 😛

So coming back to the point. I found this English book in a Marathi books exhibition. Unexpected obviously but good for me. My mother was looking for some books and she wanted me to also buy a book as I love reading. So I picked this up.

The book is about holocaust. It’s a small book and can be finished in a day. The book is based on a true story, it has many real images which make it interesting.

The book has been written for a purpose, the purpose of educating kids about holocaust. All the kids in Japan must know of what happened in the past and that it was so cruel that something of this sort should not happen again. A great deal of research and investigation was done by a Japanese lady named Fumiko Ishioka in the making of this book.

As a part of educating the kids in Japan about holocaust, Fumiko and her team also wanted to collect some objects related to holocaust, which they could put up as a part of an exhibition for the kids.

This suitcase, from the book name, was received as a part of it. But of course the book is a lot more than just about Japan’s idea of education and Japan! It is about a holocaust victim and a survivor.

IMG_20180812_120441

The book is a world wide bestseller.

If you want to know about holocaust without wanting to read big big books, Hana’s Suitcase is just perfect!

P.s – After finishing the book, the next day I saw that the Google doodle was dedicated to holocaust, it was holocaust remembrance day or something related to holocaust but I don’t remember now. But quite a timing for me in reading the book *_* .

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Chiku says:

    Nice blog… Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Preeti says:

    Nice Ashwini good attempt.
    Continue writing it will inspire you. Good Luck

    Liked by 1 person

  3. siddhesh mane says:

    Good going.. can’t wait to read your next article.. All the best!☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Niva says:

      Hehe thank you!

      Like

  4. Bhumi Maniar says:

    I’ll read this book …it seems interesting …
    I believe this too that ‘the book chooses us’
    Nice post…thanks for sharing 😘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Niva says:

      I have this. IL give it to you 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment